The Real Heroes In The Open Water

The Real Heroes In The Open Water

Doctors, nurses, police, firemen…and life savers. These are selfless individuals who are protect and save us in times of extreme need.

In light of their unheralded acts of bravery and heroism, Surf Life Saving Australia gave its Awards of Excellence to the following life savers in a grand annual ceremony this weekend:

DHL Surf Lifesaver of the Year: David McLean, Marcoola SLSC, Queensland
DHL Club of the Year: Anglesea SLSC, Victoria (Commendation – Kurrawa SLSC, Queensland)
DHL Lifeguard of the Year: Lleam Rees, Australian Lifeguard Service, Queensland
DHL Volunteer of the Year: Graeme Rollins, Ulverstone SLSC, Tasmania
Trainer of the Year: Gary Carthew, City of Bunbury SLSC, Western Australia
Assessor of the Year: Larry Platt, Lennox Head-Alstonville SLSC, New South Wales
Athlete of the Year: Thomas Nolan, North Cottesloe SLSC, Western Australia
Surf Sports Coach of the Year: Rick Duncan, Trigg Island SLSC, Western Australia
Official of the Year: Paul Kenny, Carlton Park SLSC, Tasmania
Meritorious Awards: Matthew Slattery (North Avoca SLSC), Ryan Young (Batemans Bay SLSC), Anthony McCabe, Cameron Rettke, Scott Meaker, Anthony Rettke and Shane Rettke (Tathra SLSC), Robert Brown (Tathra), Joanne Lucas (Albany SLSC) and Brock Curtis-Mathew (Wollongbar)
Innovation Award: Surf Life Saving NSW, Surf Life Saving Emergency Response System
Surf Life Saving Australia Hall of Fame: Kristy Harris, Kristy Munroe and Rick Wright OAM

David McLean from Marcoola Surf Life Saving Club won the prestigious DHL Surf Lifesaver of the Year award. A 34-year veteran, David played a key role in securing aerial surveillance on the Sunshine Coast.

Surf Life Saving Australia Brett Williamson OAM summarized the exploits and experience of these individuals best, “The Awards of Excellence is a great opportunity to honour those surf lifesavers, administrators, athletes, coaches and surf life saving clubs who work tirelessly to keep our beaches safe throughout the year. All of the winners here tonight have made a significant contribution to Surf Life Saving, whether that be at a club, state or national level. I congratulate all of them for their commitment and hard work.”

Copyright © 2010 by Steven Munatones
Steven Munatones