Richard Broer Honored Again By The Hall Of Fame

Richard Broer Honored Again By The Hall Of Fame

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Richard Broer of the Netherlands was recently selected as an Honour Contributor in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame in its Class of 2017.

The International Swimming Hall of Fame will also recognize Broer for his extensive contributions to the administration of open water swimming with the 2017 Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial Award.

The Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial Award is presented annually to the organization or individual who has contributed the most to the administration of open water swimming.

Broer played a major role in developing open water swimming both domestically and internationally over the course of two decades including his stint as the Chairperson of the Technical Open Water Committee of Royal Netherlands Swimming Association.

He is responsible for publishing the annual open water publication with the national association events, an extensive brochure on the details of the national open waters swimming events. Richard brought the sport in the Netherlands to the Internet in 1998 with the establishment of One indicator of the success of open water swimming in the Netherlands are the double Dutch marathon swimming gold medal winners at the 2016 Rio Olympics: Sharon Van Rouwendaal and Ferry Weertman.

His other internet initiative – – is a website for the European community that focuses on the European event calendar.

Broer also coaches 20 IJsselmeer (22 km) relay teams over the years and a solo winner of the event plus a 100% success record for 7 English Channel relay teams including two world speed records.

He is also an accomplished swimmer. In 1978, he won the Netherlands national 1500m competition with a time under 16 minutes. He completed several solo marathons including the 14.4 km Strait of Gibraltar, the 16 km Flanders Marathon twice, and the 22 km IJsselmeer swim three times.

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones