Robyn Kinghorn Takes Top Honors At aQuellé Midmar Mile

Robyn Kinghorn Takes Top Honors At aQuellé Midmar Mile

Robyn Kinghorn Takes Top Honors At aQuellé Midmar Mile

Courtesy of Karien Jonckheere, Midmar Dam, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa.

23-year-old Olympian Michelle Weber has been competing in the aQuellé Midmar Mile in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa since she was 11.

The last time that Weber won the aQuellé Midmar Mile was in 2016, the same year that she finished 18th in the Olympic 10 km marathon swim at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. She was hoping for a repeat of the aQuellé Midmar Mile victory, but her priority remains on the 2020 Tokyo Olympics 10 km race in Tokyo Bayon August 5th.

Weber slipped to fourth this year, but Robyn Kinghorn, Samantha Randle, and Victoria Earle each improved their historical placings this year with a victory for the 20-year-old Kinghorn, a second for Randle and a third for Earle in the choppy water.

Kinghorn took her own beeline, veering to the right across the Midmar Dam – a course different from the men’s winner Michael McGlynn won swam straight up the middle. Her choice of a straight-line tangent proved to be the best course as she won by 11 seconds. “I’m burning on the inside, but I’m extremely happy with my race,” said Kinghorn. “Everyone today swam their hearts out, I know that. The chop was extremely bad so looking up I did get quite a few waves in my face. I didn’t really know where I was going, so swimming along and seeing the others in a bunch was quite concerning, but I just went for it and put my head down.”

Elite Top 25 Female Results:
1. Robyn Kinghorn 21:16
2. Samantha Randle 21:27
3. Victoria Earle 21:30
4. Michelle Weber 21:30
5. Carli Antonopoulos 21:43
6. Leigh Mc Morran 21:57
8. Mykae Forrest 23:30
9. Tatum Axel Botha 23:42
10. Kaitlyn Albertyn 23:48
11. Ruby Dixon 23:55
12. Emma Kuhn 24:00
13. Chloe Le Roux 24:12
14. Jessica Whelan 24:20
15. Lize-Marie Davidson 24:36
16. Aimee Roux 24:40
17. Luchelle Oosthuizen 24:40
20. Sulinke van den Berg 24:50
21. Hannah Andraos 25:11
22. Guilma Lausberg 25:11
23. Tayla Haslam 25:19
24. Michaela dal Medico 25:20
25. Jessica Louise Meter 25:28

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones