Samantha Simon Joins The Triple Crown Club

Samantha Simon Joins The Triple Crown Club

Samantha Simon of the University of St. Thomas in Minnesota joined the Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming club after her Catalina Channel crossing on August 2nd which followed her August 17, 2009 English Channel crossing and her June 13th circumnavigation of Manhattan Island.

Samantha’s inclusion in the Triple Crown Club makes it 36 athletes total (including Antonio Argüelles twice) in marathon swimming history to complete the English Channel, Catalina Channel and the Manhattan Island Marathon Swim:

1. Allison Streeter (UK)
2. Taranath Narayan Shenoy (India)
3. Rick Barthels (USA)
4. Bob West (USA)
5. Peter Urrea (USA)
6. Carol Sing (USA)
7. Antonio Argüelles (Mexico) (twice, in 1999 and 2009)
8. Nick Olmos-Lau (Mexico)
9. T. Scott Coleman (USA)
10. Rebecca Jackman (USA)
11. Kevin Murphy (UK)
12. Kathleen Wilson (USA)
13. Forrest Nelson (USA)
14. Andrew Hewitt (USA)
15. David Blanke (USA)
16. Elizabeth Fry (USA)
17. Marcia Cleveland (USA)
18. Bill Hoehn (USA)
19. Sally Minty-Gravett (Jersey Island, UK)
20. James Pittar (Australia)
21. Scott Richards (USA)
22. Andrew "Alan" Voisard (USA)
23. Tina Neil (USA)
24. Rendy Lynn Opdycke (USA)
25. Michelle Davidson (USA)
26. Michelle Macy (USA)
27. Tom Hecker (USA)
28. Erica Moffett (USA)
29. Nancy Steadman-Martin (USA)
30. Michael Miller (USA)
31. Nick Adams (UK)
32. Elaine Kornbau Howley (USA)
33. Stephen Autry (USA)
34. Jeffrey Cleveland (USA)
35. Sakura Hingley (UK)
36. Samantha Simon (USA)

According to Dr. Scott Richards, Samantha had the third fastest turn-around time of all time. The fastest was San Diego’s Rendy Opdyke who successfully completed all three swim in an incredibly short span of 35 days. Alan Voisard completed his Triple Crown in 3+ months and Dr. Richards completed his triumphant swims in 12 months and 16 days while the rest of the Triple Crowners completed their fea over the course of years.

Samantha started her Triple Crown on August 17th, 2009 and completed it on August 2nd, 2010 as its newest – and youngest (as a 20-year-old) – member of the elite club.

Copyright © 2010 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones