Sarah Sweeps Solo Swims

Video courtesy of Jamie Patrick of Adventure Swimmer Productions in association with Sea Nymph Films.

American Sarah Thomas of Colorado swept two awards this year by popular demand. Earlier, she won the 2016 World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year.

Today, she was announced as the winner of the Solo Swim of the Year by the Marathon Swimmers Federation for her 80-mile (129 km) swim in Lake Powell.

If distance is king in the marathon swimming world, then Sarah is certainly its Queen,” said Steven Munatones. “Her 129 km swim wasn’t easy by any stretch of the imagination, but she certainly made it look so as she started fast from Bullfrog in the state of Utah, powered through some tough nights, and then bounded up the shoreline with smiles and statements of sincere gratitude for her crew after over 56 hours of nonstop swimming.

Sarah’s crew was similarly outstanding with Jamie Patrick, husband Ryan Willis, Andrew Malinak, Suzie Dods, Karl Kingery, Scott Olson, John Baxter, Becky Powell, Melody Maxson, Jack Nuanes, Alice Barton, Ken Classen, and Alex Thomas.”

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones