Say It Ain't So, Ronnie Wong.  Thank You Very Much

Say It Ain’t So, Ronnie Wong. Thank You Very Much

FINA announced its new members of the 2021-2025 FINA Technical Open Water Swimming Committee (TOWSC) for the next Olympic quadrennial.

But former Olympic swimmer and long-time TOWSC stalwart Ronnie Wong is no longer serving as chairperson after over two decades of service to the open water swimming community. The International Marathon Swimming Hall of Famer from Hong Kong will be sorely missed. On the other hand, the new committee is in very capable hands with veteran Sid Cassidy replacing Wong as chairperson, especially with a new right-hand man and 2016 Olympic marathon swimming champion Ferry Weertman serving as vice chairperson.

The future is bright under this FINA leadership, especially with a mix of newcomers and veterans like John West, Jorge Delgado, Tomás Haces, Luis Liberato, Britta Kamrau, Bill Ford, Tanya Bogomilova, and Andrea Prayer, and Zouheir El Moufti.

Chairperson: Sid Cassidy (USA, shown above with Olympic gold medalist Maarten van der Weijden)

Vice Chairperson: Ferry Weertman (Netherlands)

Honorary Secretary: John West (New Zealand)

Committee Members: Avelino Monteiro Avelino (Senegal), Emilie Van Veenhuyzen (South Africa), Jorge Delgado (Ecuador), Tomás Haces (Cuba), Abdul Al Alawi (Oman), Ioki Ichikawa (Japan), Petros Arestis (Cyprus), Baret Avedikoglu (Turkey), Szabolcs Fodor (Hungary), Luis Liberato (Portugal), Britta Kamrau (Germany), Bill Ford (Australia)

Events Sub-committee Members: Nikolay Zagritsenko (Kazakhstan), Tanya Bogomilova (Bulgaria), Andrea Prayer (Italy), Juan Carlos Tenorio (Venezuela), Edward Cheng (Hong Kong), Ziyad Kashmiri (Saudi Arabia)

Paris 2024 Olympic Games: Bénédicte Compois (France)

Bureau Liaison: Zouheir El Moufti (Morocco)

FINA has seven Technical Committees, with six committees for the aquatic disciplines of Swimming, Open Water Swimming, Diving, High Diving, Water Polo, Artistic Swimming and a committee for Masters.

We are very pleased to announce the new members of our FINA Technical Committees. The Committees play a critical role in the development of aquatic sports and ensuring that we are constantly striving to improve for the benefit of our athletes and fans,” said FINA President Husain Al-Musallam.

Copyright © 2008 – 2022 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones