Sid Cassidy Talks To The World Of Open Water Swimming

Sid Cassidy Talks To The World Of Open Water Swimming

FINA held its technical congresses for the sports of open water swimming and water polo today.

Sid Cassidy, chairman of the FINA Technical Open Water Swimming Committee, headed the TOWSC meeting with a quorum consisting of representatives of the following 46 countries:

  1. Aruba
  2. Australia
  3. Bahamas
  4. Barbados
  5. Belgium
  6. Canada
  7. China
  8. Denmark
  9. Dominican Republic
  10. Egypt
  11. Spain
  12. France
  13. Faroe Islands
  14. Great Britain
  15. Greece
  16. Hong Kong
  17. Indonesia
  18. Israel
  19. Virgin Islands
  20. Italy
  21. Japan
  22. Kazakhstan
  23. Luxembourg
  24. Morocco
  25. Maldives
  26. Mexico
  27. North Macedonia
  28. Monaco
  29. Mauritius
  30. Nicaragua
  31. New Zealand
  32. Philippines
  33. Poland
  34. Portugal
  35. South Africa
  36. Russia
  37. Singapore
  38. Sierra Leone
  39. Slovenia
  40. Serbia
  41. TCN
  42. Thailand
  43. Chinese Taipei
  44. Ukraine
  45. USA
  46. Vanuatu

Strong open water swimming countries with a long history in the open water that were not present included the Netherlands, Ireland, Argentina, Croatia, and Brazil. Countries with well-known open water swimming events and swimmers that were not present included Estonia, Finland, Switzerland, Sweden, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Czech Republic, Guam, and India.

The main changes which were approved for open water swimming were:

Duties of Officials : The Chief Referee is enabled to enforce the disqualification of a competitor at the end of a race. 

The Start : Approved swim caps are defined and the rule that Men’s events must always start before Women’s events is discontinued.

Read More: The FINA Technical Congress 2022 Round Up

Copyright © 2008 – 2022 by World Open Water Swimming Association