Simone Ruffini Wins Twice Big Time

Simone Ruffini Wins Twice Big Time

Photos by Giorgio Perottino for Deepbluemedia. Article courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

It was quite a FINA World Championships for Simone Ruffini. He not only qualified for the 2016 Olympics with a seventh place finish in the 10 km race, but he also culminated the event with his first world title and a successful marriage proposal to teammate Aurora Ponsele.

After working with American Alex Meyer during the race, Ruffini passed his rival with 500 meters to go and set up his podium proposal. While standing on top of the podium during the medal ceremony, he unfurled a sign asking Ponsele to marry him. Ponsele, who finished 22nd in the 10 km earlier in the week, placed her fingers in the shape of the heart to signal a yes.

His Italian teammate, Matteo Furlan, also finished the championships in excellent fashion, winning his second bronze medal in 4:54:38. Furlan demonstrated his versatility in placing in the top three in both the sprint 5 km and the marathon 25 km.

25 km Results:
1 Simone Ruffini (ITA) 4:53:10.7
2 Alex Meyer (USA) 4:53:15.1
3 Matteo Furlan (ITA) 4:54:38.0
4 Axel Reymond (FRA) 4:55:55.8
5 Erwin Maldonado (VEN) 4:56:00.4
6 Sam Sheppard (AUS) 4:56:22.9
7 Santiago (ECU) 4:56:59.4
8 Evgenii Drattcev (RUS) 4:57:11.9
9 Alexander Studzinski (GER) 4:59:11.9
10 David Heron (USA) 5:00:11.5
11 Andreas Waschburger (GER) 5:00:19.2
12 Yuval Safra (ISR) 5:02:52.9
13 Vitaliy Khudyakov (KAZ) 5:03:16.3
14 Evgenij Pop Acev (MKD) 5:04:43.4
15 Matej Kozubek (CZE) 5:05:22.3
16 Allan Do Carmo (BRA) 5:06:27.9
17 Jarrod Poort (AUS) 5:07:44.5
18 Diogo Villarinho (BRA) 5:11:04.2
19 Vit Indeduld (CZE) 5:13:11.0
20 Daniel Szekelyi (HUN) 5:15:03.4
21 Roman Karyakin (RUS) 5:15:53.8
22 Qianpeng Ye (CHN) 5:19:01.5
23 Nico Manoussakis (RSA) 5:20:47.2
24 Saleh Mohammad (SYR) 5:31:21.1
DNF Shahar Resman (ISR)
DNF Marcel Schouten (NED)
DNF Christopher Robert Bryan (IRL)
DNF Gabriel Raul Villagoiz (ARG)
DNF Guillermo Vittorio Bertola (ARG)
DNF Zibin Zhang (CHN)
DNF Haythem Abdelkhalek (TUN)
DNF Marc-Antoine Daniel Olivier (FRA)

Copyright © 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association