Streaming Along A Marathon Swim

Streaming Along A Marathon Swim

Streaming Along Marathon Swims

Courtesy of WOWSA, Straits of Florida, Caribbean Sea.

One of the innovations that Diana Nyad used during her long (24+ hour swims) was the swimmer’s streamer. It is a piece of cloth (for the daytime hours) or illuminated material (for the nighttime hours) that runs parallel alongside the boat.

The navigational aid is hoisted from the escort boat and anchored in the water so the cloth or material runs 1-3 meters underneath the surface of the water. This allowed her to look straight down in the water at the streamer on every stroke in order swim straight (i.e., parallel to the escort boat). She conserved energy and improved her navigational course by not constantly looking up at the boat, especially during the night.

Today at 11 am Los Angeles time, 2 pm New York time, 7 pm London time, listen to Diana Nyad< in the Daily News of Open Water Swimming studio tell first-hand about her Xtreme Dream, what happened out there between Cuba and Florida, and what she learned along the way.

This one-hour webinar is free and will be an enlightening, entertaining hour hour full of inspiration, hope and courage from a 62-year-old marathon swimmer:Diana Nyad and the Xtreme Dream – In Her Own Words on Tuesday, October 4th.

Photo courtesy of Christi Barli.

Copyright © 2008 – 2011 by World Open Water Swimming Association