Suzanne Heim-Bowen Wins  DC Marathon Swim

Suzanne Heim-Bowen Wins DC Marathon Swim

Jim Loreto and Denis Crean completed the first 33 km DC Marathon Swim down the Potomac River from the Chain Bridge in northern Washington D.C. to Mount Vernon, Virginia in 2020 (see here).

It was the first known swim along this route – and they opened up the opportunity to others. “The inaugural DC Marathon Swim is a 20.5-mile course in the Potomac River through America’s capitol. Swimmers go from Chain Bridge to the shore of George and Martha Washington’s estate at Mt. Vernon. Swim through time and make history. The race is open to 10-15 qualified swimmers and relays chosen by lottery. All swimmers must be supported by crew, power boat, kayak/paddleboard if requested, and an official observer.”

First soloist Suzanne Heim-Bowen from San Francisco, California

Loreto went ten-for-ten in the inaugural DC Marathon Swim. “We had seven solo swimmers and 3 relays…big names. 10-for-10 finished; it was a huge success.”

The Monumental Team

Anita Hartsock agreed, “I finished. That was hard. Tides are hard. I wanted to say thank you to the most awesome team ever. Team slow elite-Mac, so glad you rounded out our all-women crew.”

1. The Monumental Team 6 hours 47 minutes
2. Suzanne Heim-Bowen 7 hours 50 minutes
3. Team Hoop Relay 8 hours 18 minutes
4. Doug Karr 8 hours 38 minutes
5. Team W1 Adventure Team 9 hours 21 minutes
6. Courtney Moates Paulk 9 hours 42 minutes
7. Paul Grecco 10 hours 3 minutes
8. Elaine Howley 12 hours 38 minutes
9. Caroline Block 13 hours 22 minutes
10. Anita Hartsock 13 hours 38 minutes

For more information, visit here and on Facebook here. For photos from Terry Mitchell, visit here.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones