Swim Miami Enhances International Swimming Hall Of Fame Festivities

Swim Miami Enhances International Swimming Hall Of Fame Festivities

Swim Miami Enhances International Swimming Hall Of Fame Festivities

Courtesy of Swim Miami, Miami Marine Stadium, Florida.

Swim Miami is one of the largest open water swimming events in the United States. Race director Jonathan Strauss organizes 800m, 1 mile (The Miami Mile), 5 km, 10 km and K-9 Krawl events held on April 26th in southern Florida. It was site of the 2019 USA Swimming National Open Water Swimming Championships.

The K-9 Krawl World Championships is a human/dog duathlon where owners and their dogs swim together 200 yards and run 400 yards.

Concurrently to the Swim Miami weekend is the International Swimming Hall of Fame Honoree Induction Weekend on April 24th-26th in Fort Lauderdale, just over 30 minutes north of Miami by car. Marilyn Bell will be honored as a Honor Open Water Swimmer and Bob Duenkel will be honored posthumously during the ISHOF Honoree Induction ceremonies on Sunday. Bell, also an inductee in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame, will be honored together with Brendan Hansen (USA), Michael Klim (Australia), Jon Sieben (Australia), Rebecca Soni (USA), Daichi Suzuki (Japan), Matthew Mitcham (Australia), Elvira Khasyanova (Russia), Mirko Vicevic (Yugoslavia), Ursula Carlile (Australia), David Marsh (USA), Peter Hurzeler (Switzerland), Otylia Jedrzejczak (Poland) and Li Ting (China).

With the Paragon and ISHOF Awards Night held on Friday, April 24th and the Honoree Induction Day Luncheon and the 56th Annual International Swimming Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner held on Saturday, April 25th, open water swimmers can get over to Miami with plenty of time to enjoy the Sunday morning races,” said Steven Munatones. “For open water swimmers, south Florida on April 24th-26th will be a full weekend of fun.”

Swim Miami 10 km Marathon Swim Overall Top 10 Results (on May 5th 2019):
1. Heidi Ullrich (21) 2:18:34.11
2. Sandra Frimerman (35) 2:18:34.51
3. Ashley Whitney (39) 2:24:13.58
4. Eric Sulllivan (53) 2:30:00.03
5. Victor Mestre (51) 2:30:08.35
6. Merle Liivand (28) 2:30:37.51
7. Paul Fisher (47) 2:32:44.37
8. Mattea Sokolow (14) 2:33:51.85
9. Kristen Vlaun (46) 2:37:00.84
10. Edmund Haskins (38) 2:39:18.26

For more information on the International Swimming Hall of Fame weekend, visit here. For more information about Swim Miami, visit here.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones