Swimming In The Sea In Capri-Napoli Since 1954

Swimming In The Sea In Capri-Napoli Since 1954

The Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli has been attracting the best marathon swimmers in the world, both professional and amateur, to its race since 1954.

The 36 km (22 mile) competition has long been part of the top global marathon swimming circuits in the world over the past six decades, from the World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation, International Marathon Swimming Association and, since 1991, the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix.

In 2012, the 36 km (22-mile) sea competition saw superstar Trent Grimsey led a tough field from the island of Capri and finish in record time at the Marina Grande Beach in Napoli on the mainland of Italy.

Over its history, the race has been held on a variety of weekends in June, July, August and September, and will be moved to September 1st in 2013.

At the request of FINA, the Federazione Italiana Nuoto and organiser Eventualmente SAS under the direction of Luciano Cotena had a choice of dates in June and September. In an attempt to be part of a greater global celebration, the Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli will coincide with the World Culture Forum whose principal theme is the sea on September 1st. Cotena explains, “This year’s event in Naples will help close a very important World Culture Forum on the first Sunday in September, so it is a great opportunity for open water swimming world.”

The FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix series consists of races in the following locations:

* Rosario (Argentina), locally called Maratón Acuática Internactional Ciudad de Rosario
* Santa Fe-Coronda (Argentina), locally called Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda
* Viedma (Argentina), locally called La Patagones Viedma
* Hernandarias-Paraná (Argentina), locally called Maratón Hernandarias-Paraná
* Cancún (Mexico), locally called Maratón Cancún
* Capri-Napoli (Italy), locally called Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli
* Lac St-Jean (Canada), locally called Traversée Internationale du lac St-Jean
* Lac Memphrémagog (Canada), locally called Traversée Internationale du lac Memphrémagog
* Šabac (Serbia), locally called Šabac Swim Marathon
* Ohrid Lake (Macedonia), locally called Ohrid Lake Swim Marathon

Copyright © 2012 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones