Olympic 10K Marathon Swim at the Tokyo Olympic Games - Live Updates

The World Open Water Swimming Association (WOWSA) announces bold predictions for the fastest open water swimming in the world happening August 4th & 5th in Odaiba Marine Park in Tokyo Bay.

Race Schedule (Tokyo)

Wednesday AUG 4th WOMENS’ 10KM
Athletes Presentation 6h25
RACE START 6h30
Victory Ceremony 9h00

Thursday AUG 5th MENS’ 10KM
Athletes Presentation 6h25
RACE START 6h30
Victory Ceremony 9h00

Race Conditions

Wednesday – Aug 4
High tide – 00h07
Low tide – 08h09
No Current
Air temperature expected – 28Cº

Thursday – Aug 5
High tide – 01h35
Low tide – 09h00
No Current
Air temperature expected – 27Cº

“Expect the Unexpected​”

WOWSA expects the unexpected at the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim at the Tokyo Olympic Games.

Both the men’s and women’s races will be extremely close in the very flat-, very warm-water, extremely humid and tightly-packed conditions.

It is anyone’s guess what will happen in the women’s race on August 4th and the men’s race on August 5th. Who will win gold? Who will finish in the Top 10? Will anyone have to quarantine or be prevented from swimming due to COVID-19 regulations?

No one knows. But WOWSA based its bold predictions on the track records of the world’s fastest marathon swimmers combined other intangibles, tendencies and tactics of each Olympic athlete.

2020 Tokyo Olympic Male Finalists

Click the image below to read Steven Munatones’ predictions for the 25 Men’s Marathon Finalists

2020 Tokyo Olympic Female Finalists

Click the image below to read Steven Munatones’ predictions for the 25 Women’s Marathon Finalists

Live Cam

Live cam shows the Open Water Swimming Course at Odaiba Marine Park

Odaiba Marine Park

Open Water Swimming Course Updates

Men’s 10K Marathon Swim (Tokyo Olympics)
“As You Watch It”
Live

(2PM (Los Angeles) August 4th – 5PM (NYC) August 4th – 6AM (Tokyo) August 5th)

Women’s 10K Marathon Swim (Tokyo Olympics)
“As You Watch It”
Live

(2PM (Los Angeles) August 3rd – 5PM (NYC) August 3rd – 6AM (Tokyo) August 4th)

Tokyo Olympic Spotlight

Full coverage of all the pool swimming and open water swimming news before, during and after the Summer Olympic Games in Tokyo.
  • All
  • Open Water Swimming
  • open water swimming
  • Technical Open Water Swimming Committee
  • Tokyo Olympics