Tomi Stefanovski Swimming Staggeringly Swiftly

Tomi Stefanovski Swimming Staggeringly Swiftly

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Tomi Stefanovski was honored by the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame this weekend when he was formally inducted as an Honour Swimmer of the Class of 2016.

The former water polo player and professional marathon swimmer was also recognized by his government representatives as he is the first and only athlete from Macedonia who was so honored by the Hall of Fame.

He is also concurrently nominated for the World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year, a similar honor that he also received in 2014.

For 20 years, Stefanovski has soldiered on despite withstanding six different shoulder surgeries. He repeatedly participated on the FINA/HOSA 10K Marathon Swimming World Cup and the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix circuit in a competitive manner. Two decades after winning the 19 km Jarak-Šabac Marathon Swim in Serbia, he remarkably won the 2016 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix circuit, tied with Edoardo Stochino of Italy.

Along the way, the 45-year-old has won the 32 km Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean in Canada, crossed the English Channel in a historically swift 7 hours 42 minutes, and competed repeatedly in all the world’s most competitive marathon swims including the 36 km Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli, the 57 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda, the 88 km Maratón Hernandarias-Paraná, the 15 km Maratón Cancún, the 34 km Traversée Internationale du lac Memphrémagog, and the 33 km Ohrid Lake Swim Marathon.

The nominees for the 2016 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year include the following inspirational individuals:

1. Roger Finch (South Africa)
2. Seti Afoa (Samoa)
3. Tomi Stefanovski (Macedonia)
4. Edoardo Stochino (Italy)
5. Ferry Weertman (Netherlands)
6. Nejib Belhedi (Tunisia)
7. Ger Kennedy (Ireland)
8. Alex Kostich (USA)
9. Masayuki Moriya (Japan)
10. Colin Hill (Great Britain)
11. Ingemar Patiño Macarine (Philippines)
12. Lewis Pugh (Great Britain)
13. Christof Wandratsch (Germany)

To vote for the WOWSA Awards, visit here.

Voting continues until December 31st 2016.

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones