Tough Tackle Turbulent Tampa

Tough Tackle Turbulent Tampa

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Ron Collins announced 16 swimmers and 4 relay teams that will compete in the 17th Annual Tampa Bay Marathon Swim on April 19th.

One of the field’s top entrants is returning as a seasoned veteran, but Samantha Simon’s first marathon swim was in Tampa Bay in 2008, when she was just about to graduate high school as an 18 year old,” describes Collins. “Not only did she complete that challenge in 8 hours 59 minutes, she also went on to successfully complete swims of the English Channel (13 hours 11 minutes), the Manhattan Island Marathon Swim (8 hours 10 minutes), and the Catalina Channel (9 hours 22 minutes) in 2010, at age 20, to become the youngest person to complete the Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming.”

1. Samantha Simon
2. Lisa Hertz
3. Thomas Bell
4. Kevin Joubert
5. Gabriel Viti
6. Thomas Hintz
7. Willy Blumentals
8. Bridgette Hobart
9. Carl Selles
10. Ann von Spiegelfeld
11. Dan Fritz
12. Arnie Bellini
13. Bart Cobb
14. Genevieve Mackwood
15. Brian Lanahan
16. Steve Faulkner
17. Bull Shark Beach Open Water Swim Club (Big Donald Lutton, Andrew Lutton, Christopher Beach, Bubba Drody, Juan Cue, Scott Linebaugh)
18. Delmarva Dogfish (David Speier, Jennifer Underwood, Jeffrey Benner, Charles Potterton, Bruce Anderson)
19. Kona Kaizen (Vince Schaper, Hadar Aviram, Cynthia Thomas)
20. SYSM Shark Bait (Fernette Ramnath, Terri Goodman, Marty Rauch, Ray Becker)

Copyright © 2014 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones