Triple Is Doubled In Once Around Manhattan

Triple Is Doubled In Once Around Manhattan

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Both Fionnuala Walsh of Ireland and Doug McConnell of the USA joined the Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming today with their successful circumnavigation swims at the Manhattan Island Marathon Swim in New York City.

The duo completed the trio of swim – the English Channel, the Catalina Channel and the Manhattan Island Marathon Swim – to join a host of other world-class and renowned swimmers.

Walsh, who was the first Clare swimmer and the 15th Irish woman to successfuly swim the English Channel, also became the first Irish woman to join the Triple Crown, joining fellow Irishmen Eddie Irwin and Ned Denison on the elite track.

McConnell, who has raised over US$200,000 during his quest to join the Triple Crown, is one of the growing number of 50-somethings to accomplish what only 86 people in history have done.

The words of Nick Adams of the Channel Swimming & Piloting Federation ring true when thinking about their journey, “When things don’t go to plan, you have two choices: give up or try again. It’s what one does with setbacks that makes us who we are, and this is where true heroes shine through. [In 2010 when] Fionnuala Walsh slipped into the cold [English] Channel waters to complete her dream, which was dashed two months earlier by fog, a couple of hundred metres from French sand. She kept the swim low profile, but swam a brilliant swim today, and finished in 15 hours 26 minutes. Fionnuala is an example to us all.”

As is McConnell and the rest of the Triple Crown club:

1. Alison Streeter (UK)
2. Taranath Narayan Shenoy (India)
3. Rick Barthels (USA)
4. Bob West (USA)
5. Peter Urrea (USA)
6. Carol Sing (USA)
7. Antonio Argüelles (Mexico) (twice, in 1999 and 2009)
8. Nick Olmos-Lau (Mexico)
9. T. Scott Coleman (USA)
10. Rebecca Jackman-Beeler (USA)
11. Kevin Murphy (UK)
12. Kathleen Wilson (USA)
13. Forrest Nelson (USA)
14. Andrew Hewitt (USA)
15. David Blanke (USA)
16. Elizabeth Fry (USA)
17. Marcia Cleveland (USA)
18. Bill Hoehn (USA)
19. Sally Minty-Gravett (Jersey)
20. James Pittar (Australia)
21. Scott Richards (USA)
22. Andrew ‘Alan’ Voisard (USA)
23. Tina Neill (USA) (twice in 2008 and 2012)
24. Rendy Lynn Opdycke (USA)
25. Michelle Davidson (USA)
26. Michelle Macy (USA)
27. Tom Hecker (USA)
28. Erica Moffett (USA)
29. Nancy Steadman-Martin (USA)
30. Michael Miller (USA)
31. Nick Adams (UK)
32. Elaine Kornbau Howley (USA)
33. Stephen Autry (USA)
34. Jeffrey Cleveland (USA)
35. Sakura Hingley (UK)
36. Samantha Simon (USA)
37. Jim Barber (USA)
38. Craig Lenning (USA)
39. Mallory Mead (USA)
40. Dave Barra (USA)
41. Penny Palfrey (Australia)
42. Dan Richards (USA)
43. Tobey Saracino (USA)
44. Yesenia Cabrera (Guatemala)
45. Michael Renford (Australia)
46. Mo Siegel (USA)
47. Anthony Zamora (USA)
48. Brad McVetta (USA)
49. Jaime Caballero (Spain)
50. William “Davis” Lee (Bahamas)
51. James Fitzpatrick (USA)
52. Darren Miller (USA)
53. Miquel Suñer Comalat (Spain)
54. Eddie Irwin (Ireland)
55. Selina Moreno Pasagali (Spain)
56. Katie Benoit (USA/Germany)
57. Hendrik Meerman (USA)
58. Sarah Thomas (USA)
59. Dan Boyle (USA)
60. Barbara Held (USA)
61. Mariel Hawley (Mexico)
62. Dave Smith (USA)
63. Cindy Walsh (USA)
64. Jaimie Monahan (USA)
65. Ned Denison (Ireland)
66. Gabor Molnar (Hungary)
67. Roger Finch (South Africa)
68. Lance Ogren (USA)
69. Katy Dooley (USA)
70. Thomas W. Kofler (Italy)
71. Kent Nicholas (USA)
72. Barbara Pellick (Australia)
73. Nial Funchion (USA)
74. Karen Throsby (UK)
75. James Penrose (UK)
76. Jim Neitz (USA)
77. Steven Green (USA)
78. Ron Collins (USA)
79. Courtney Moates Paulk (USA)
80. Javier Gutierrez (Mexico)
81. Samuel Neri (Mexico)
82. Ceinwen Roberts (Australia)
83. Graeme Lowe (Jersey)
84. Gordon Gridley (USA)
85. Fionnuala Walsh (Ireland)
86. John Walker (USA)
87. Joelle Beard (USA)
88. Doug McConnell (USA)

Editor’s Update: Joelle Beard of Utah and John Walker of the South End Rowing Club also joined the Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming at the 2014 Manhattan Island Marathon Swim held on June 28th.

Copyright © 2014 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones