Who Qualifies For The 2016 Rio Olympics Marathon Swim?

Who Qualifies For The 2016 Rio Olympics Marathon Swim?

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

On June 11th and 12th in Setúbal Bay, Portugal, the second and final qualification race to select the finalists for the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games will be held.

The first qualification race was held in Kazan, Russia where the top 10 finishers qualified for the Rio Olympics [see below].

In the second qualification race, the first ten male and female swimmers in addition to the fastest five swimmers from each continent (Asia, Americas, Europe, Africa, Oceania) will qualify for a total of 25 finalists in the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim.

First Qualification Race Men’s 10 km marathon swim qualifiers:
1 Jordan Wilimovsky (USA) 1:49:48.2
2 Ferry Weertman (NED) 1:50:00.3
3 Spyridon Gianniotis (GRE) 1:50:00.7
4 Sean Ryan (USA) 1:50:03.3
5 Jack Burnell (GBR) 1:50:05.8
6 Marc-Antoine Daniel Frede Olivier (FRA) 1:50:06.4
7 Simone Ruffini (ITA) 1:50:09.1
8 Richard Weinberger (CAN) 1:50:19.9
9 Allan Do Carmo (BRA) 1:50:23.1
10 Federico Vanelli (ITA) 1:50:23.1

First Qualification Race Women’s 10 km marathon swim qualifiers:
1 Aurélie Muller (FRA) 1:58:04.3
2 Sharon Van Rouwendaal (NED) 1:58:06.7
3 Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA) 1:58:26.5
4 Rachele Bruni (ITA) 1:58:27.9
5 Anastasiia Krapivina (RUS) 1:58:28.6
6 Poliana Okimoto Cintra (BRA) 1:58:28.8
7 Isabelle Härle (GER) 1:58:30.0
8 Kaliopi Araouzou (GRE) 1:58:30.6
9 Haley Anderson (USA) 1:58:35.9
10 Éva Risztov (HUN) 1:58:36.4

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association