Will University Of Tennessee Distance Guys Go 1-2 In 25K?

Will University Of Tennessee Distance Guys Go 1-2 In 25K?

Will University Of Tennessee Distance Guys Go 1-2 In 25K?

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Does USA Swimming and University Of Tennessee coach Tyler Fenwick know something about Saturday’s 25 km marathon swim at the 2015 FINA World Championship that others do not know about?

Perhaps. He certainly has a strategic plan in place.

Fenwick coaches both Alex Meyer and David Heron at the University of Tennessee and the training partners may be planning to go 1-2 in the 25 km.

Heron finished sixth and Meyer finished 11th in the 5 km race earlier in the week – and the 25 km is more in line with their talents.

But Heron and Meyer have a tough field to beat, especially including a pair of fast-swimming Frenchmen (Marc-Antoine Olivier and Alex Reymond), a pair of veteran Italians (Matteo Furlan and Simone Ruffini), an intense duo from Brazil (Diogo Villarinho and Allan Do Carmo), and the always tough Germans (Andreas Waschburger and Alexander Studzinski).

The last nine editions of the men’s 25 km at the FINA World Championships have been won by nine different swimmers. Thomas Lurz of Germany, the winner in 2013, has retired.

Start list for 25 km:
1 Evgenij Pop Acev (MKD)
2 Marc-Antoine Daniel Frede Olivier (FRA)
3 Vitaliy Khudyakov (KAZ)
4 Matteo Furlan (ITA)
5 Haythem Abdelkhalek (TUN)
6 Shahar Resman (ISR)
7 Saleh Mohammad (SYR)
8 Matej Kozubek (CZE)
9 Marcel Schouten (NED)
10 Diogo Villarinho (BRA)
11 Andreas Waschburger (GER)
12 Allan Do Carmo (BRA)
13 Nico Manoussakis (RSA)
14 Alex Meyer (USA)
15 Roman Karyakin (RUS)
16 Yuval Safra (ISR)
17 Sam Sheppard (AUS)
18 David Heron (USA)
19 Axel Reymond (FRA)
20 Christopher Robert Bryan (IRL)
21 Guillermo Vittorio Bertola (ARG)
22 Vit Ingeduld (CZE)
23 Jarrod Poort (AUS)
24 Zibin Zhang (CHN)
25 Gabriel Raul Villagoiz (ARG)
26 Simone Ruffini (ITA)
27 Santiago Enderica (ECU)
28 Alexander Studzinski (GER)
29 Qianpeng Ye (CHN)
30 Erwin Maldonado (VEN)
31 Evgenii Drattcev (RUS)
32 Daniel Szekelyi (HUN)

Copyright © 2008 – 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association