World Open Water Swimming Man Of The Year - Voting Status

World Open Water Swimming Man Of The Year – Voting Status

Universal Sports knows an interesting niche for public consumption of the open water world: adventure swimming.

Not only has Jamie Patrick’s swim in Lake Tahoe been documented by Universal Sports, but they are also working on another film called “Swimming California” about his Sacramento River adventure swim.

The film is about the experience of Jamie’s support crew – those unsung, unpublicized heroes of the open water swimming world. The pilots, the crew, the kayakers, the paddlers, the cooks, and all those who support open water swimmers onshore and on the water.

It is a behind-the-scenes look at what my crew did during this adventure. It is about the adventure of all those involved.” The film will be shown during Adventure Week on Universal Sports in April 2012.

With 9 more days to go in the online voting for the World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year, each nominee is an adventurous hero in their own right. Champions, world record holders, aquapreneurs breaking new ground in the open water world, and visionary ambassadors all. Each extraordinarily remarkable within their own niche in the global open water swimming ecosystem.

Below is the current voting status of the WOWSA Awards:

1. Jamie Patrick (USA) – Adventure Swimmer – 886 votes (18%)
2. Salvatore Cimmino (Italy) – Champion of the Disabled – 646 votes (13%)
3. Petar Stoychev (Bulgaria) – World Professional Marathon Swimming Champion – 634 votes (13%)
4. Stephen Redmond (Ireland) – Courageous Channel Challenger – 579 votes (12%)
5. Bruckner Chase (USA) – Ocean Advocacy and Awareness Visionary – 498 votes (10%)
6. Roger Allsopp (Great Britain) – Barrier-Breaker – 412 votes (8%)
7. Thomas Lurz (Germany) – World Professional Marathon Swimming Champion – 269 votes (5%)
8. Simon Murie (England) – Open Water Swimming Tour Operator and Enabler – 262 votes (5%)
9. Yutaka Shinozaki (Japan) – Japan International Open Water Swimming Association – 251 votes (5%)
10. Spyridon Gianniotis (Greece) – World Professional Marathon Swimming Champion – 238 votes (5%)
11. Doug Woodring (Hong Kong) –Ocean Recovery Alliance Visionary – 169 votes (3%)
12. Simon Griffiths (England) – Open Water Swimming Publisher Visionary – 140 votes (3%)

Voting continues until December 31st.


The WOWSA Award for Man of the Year is given not necessarily to the best athlete, but is meant to honor the individual who (1) best embodies the spirit of open water swimming, (2) possesses the sense of adventure, tenacity and perseverance that open water swimmers are known for, and (3) has most positively influenced the world of open water swimming in 2011.

Wherever these individuals ultimately finish in the WOWSA Awards, they are all wonderful role models of the sport, representing the epitome of everything that is cool, right and good about open water swimming.

Copyright © 2011 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones